Trending

Full list of all the 2023 Bank Holidays – Here’s the full list from Jan to December

0
Bank Holidays

It’s almost time to celebrate the beginning of a new year.

2023 is on the horizon and whether you’re making New Year’s resolutions or not, it’s a great chance for a fresh start. It’s also worth figuring out when the Bank Holidays are so you know when you’ll be getting a well-earned break.

And if you play it smart, you could even manage to double your time off by using the Bank Holidays to your advantage. In 2022, we got two extra Bank Holidays – one for the Queen’s Platinum Jubilee in June and another for her state funeral in September.

In 2023, we get a Bank Holiday on Good Friday (Friday, April 7) and another for Easter Monday on April 10. If you’re able to take April 11, 12, 13 and 14 off as annual leave, you can actually be off for 10 days – from April 7 to Sunday, April 16 – while only using up four of your annual leave days.

India observes three national holidays i.e. on January 26 (Republic Day), August 15 (Independence Day), and October 2 (Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti). Below are the dates on which the banks will remain closed. Check here the month-wise list of major bank holidays in the year 2023.

The King’s coronation gives us an extra day off in May and we already get the first Monday in May as a Bank Holiday. The King’s coronation bank holiday date is Monday, May 8. So, you could book four days off – Tuesday May 2 to Friday May 5- and get 10 days off in total, for the price of four annual leave days.

The summer Bank Holiday of 2022 will then arrive on Monday, August 28. If you book Tuesday (August 29) to Friday (September 1) off, you’ll get nine days off for a total of four days worth of annual leave.

It’s then a long wait until Christmas for the next 2023 Bank Holiday. We’ll have Monday, December 25 and Tuesday, December 26 off for Christmas Day and Boxing Day – the first time in two years the holidays haven’t fallen on a weekend.

So if you were to take December 27, 28 and 29 as annual leave, you will be off for 10 days from Saturday December 23 to Monday January 1.

Here’s a complete list of the 2023 Bank Holidays

January 2023

  • 1 January, Sunday – New Year’s Day
  • 23 January, Monday – Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Jayanti
  • 26 January 2022, Thursday – Republic Day
You May Also Like -   OnePlus is ready to launch a mid-range smartphone Nord

February 2023

  • 5 February, Sunday – Guru Ravidas Jayanti
  • 18 February, Saturday – Maha Shivaratri

March 2023

  • 8 March, Wednesday – Holi
  • 22 March, Wednesday Ugadi
  • 30 March, Thursday – Ram Navami

April 2023

  • 4 April, Tuesday – Mahavir Jayanti
  • 7 April, Friday – Good Friday
  • 14 April, Friday – Dr. Ambedkar Jayanti
  • 22 April, Saturday – Idul Fitr

May 2023

  • 1 May, Monday – May Day/Labour Day
  • 5 May, Friday – Buddha Purnima

June 2023

  • 29 June, Thursday – Bakrid / Eid al Adha
  • 29 July, Saturday – Muharram

August 2023

  • 15 August, Tuesday – Independence Day
  • 16 August, Wednesday – Parsi New Year
  • 31 August, Thursday – Raksha Bandhan

September 2023

  • 7 September, Thursday – Janmashtami
  • 19 September, Tuesday – Ganesh Chaturthi
  • 28 September, Thursday – Eid e Milad

October 2023

  • 2 October, Monday – Gandhi Jayanti
  • 21 October, Saturday – Maha Saptami
  • 22 October, Sunday – Maha Ashtami
  • 23 October, Monday – Maha Navami
  • 24 October, Tuesday – Vijaya Dashami

November 2023

  • 12 November, Sunday – Diwali
  • 13 November, Monday – Deepavali Holiday
  • 15 November, Wednesday – Bhai Dooj
  • 27 November, Monday – Guru Nanak Jayanti

December 2023

  • 25 December, Monday – Christmas Day

As per the RBI rules, there are three categories of holidays, and they are as follows:

1. Holiday under the Negotiable Instruments Act

2. Holiday under the Negotiable Instruments Act and the Real-Time Gross Settlement Holiday

3. Banks’ Closing of Accounts

eating, traveling and exploring new cultures.. Football Manager addict. Avid foodie and last but certainly not the least a disillusioned Arsenal fan. Sports is my second passion and I follow Football, Cricket and a bit of Tennis. I have written extensively on the beautiful game and am a keen follower of the English Premier League and indeed European football on the whole.