IPL 2021 auction preview: Sunrisers Hyderabad Squad Details

Sunrisers Hyderabad had perhaps the most fascinating season among the teams in IPL 2020. That word fits their campaign because they started the league as one of the favourites thanks to their consistency over the recent years, but their progress was anything but serene.

Results in last three seasons

SeasonLeague stage finishPlayoff result
IPL 20181stLost in the final
IPL 20194thLost in the eliminator
IPL 20203rdLost in Qualifier 2

The identity of the franchise has been to keep their core together whenever possible, much like Chennai Super Kings. Even more so than CSK, if you consider they have barely made any changes to their team set-up over the last few auctions. Ahead of IPL 2020, the most they spent was on Mitchell Marsh at Rs 2 crore while they focussed bringing in young Indian talent. Ahead of IPL 2019, they spent barely anything to bring in three players, all around the base price range. And ahead of IPL 2021, they only have three slots in the entire squad, comfortably the least among all franchises. It was a bit of a surprise to the franchise let Fabien Allen go, however, as the dynamic West Indies allrounder did not get game time last season.

Players released after IPL 2020: Billy Stanlake, Sandeep Bavanaka, Fabian Allen, Sanjay Yadav, Prithviraj Yarra

Player traded in/out: None

SRH squad for IPL 2021 ahead of auction

David WarnerBhuvneshwar KumarJonny BairstowMohammad Nabi
Kane WilliamsonRashid KhanShreevats GoswamiAbhishek Sharma
Manish PandeySandeep SharmaWriddhiman SahaVijay Shankar
Virat SinghT NatarajanMitchell Marsh
Priyam GargBasil ThampiJason Holder
Abdul SamadShahbaz Nadeem
Siddharth Kaul
Khaleel Ahmed

Salary cap remaining: Rs 10.75 crores

Overall slots remaining: 3

Overseas slots remaining: 1

Areas to target

  • Power-hitter lower down the order
  • Spin-bowling allrounder
  • Backup overseas pacer

IPL 2021: Purse & squad details before auction

FranchisePurse remaining (Rs crores)Available SlotsOverseas Slots

The auction will be telecast on Star Sports Network on 18 February from 3 pm IST.