Type to search

Kangana Ranaut claims to Return her Padma Shri Award


One of the well-known actresses of bollywood, Kangana Ranaut seems she is not willing to leave the spotlight.

As we all know she uploaded a video in which she could be seen talking about the death of Sushant Singh Rajput, the young actor who committed suicide on 14th June in his Bandra apartment. She blaimed bollywood for his death and showed how nepotism in the industry destroys the career of talented actors. 

But recently, she came into highlight because of her bold decision of returning the prestigious Padma Shri Award. She told in an event, that if she is unable to prove her claims, then she is ready to return the prestigious award. 

Now, let us have a look at some people who have returned their Padma Shri in the past. 

  • Sadhu Singh Hamdard (Freedom Fighter and Writer) 

 He was awarded the Padma Shri Award in January 1984. But due to the protest against Operation Blue Star, he returned the award in June 1984. 

  • Dalip Kaur Tiwana (Writer) 

For her contribution in literature and education, she was awarded Padma Shri Award in 2004. But due to increasing intolerance in the nation, she decided to return the award in 2015. 

  • Aribam Shyam Sharma (Film Maker) 

The famous Manipuri film maker received the award in 2006. However, he returned the Padma Shri Award in 2019, due to the protest against Citizenship  Amendment Act. 

  • Mujtaba Hussain (Writer) 

For his amazing contributions in the field of Urdu literature, he got Padma Shri Award in 2007. In an interview in 2019, he told that the condition of our nation is not good, and he is returning the award. 

  • Jayanta Mahapatra (Poet) 

The First Indian poet won the Sahitya Akademi award, got the Padma Shri in 2009. And, decided to return the award in 2015 due to increasing intolerance in the nation.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *