Shreyas, Chahal and Warner expected to be the top draws in the IPL mega auction

crypto coins

New Delhi: Indian batter Shreyas Iyer and spinner Yuzvendra Chahal along with Australian dasher David Warner are expected to be the top draws as more than 1,200 players registered for the Indian Premier League mega auction slated for next month.

Aside from Shreyas and Chahal, the 10 teams are likely to be involved in a bidding war for Indian players such as senior opener Shikhar Dhawan, batter Ishan Kishan, the tempo duo of Shardul Thakur and Deepak Chahar, the last edition’s top two wicket takers Harshal Patel and Avesh Khan, spinner Rahul Chahar and all-rounder Washington Sundar.

The above bunch of Indian players are expected to attract somewhere between Rs 7 and 15 crores (between $1 to 2 million)

Among foreign players, Warner, South African Kagiso Rabada, is likely to make a lot of money, along with England’s Mark Wood, Australian Mitchell Marsh, New Zealand’s Trent Boult and Pat Cummins. Veterans Faf du Plessis and Dwayne Bravo were still able to keep their Chennai Super Kings franchise interested.

“A total of 1,214 players (896 Indian and 318 foreign players) have applied to be part of the IPL 2022 Player Auction,” the IPL said in a statement on Saturday.

The two-day mega sale is scheduled for February 12-13 in Bengaluru.

This is the first list of players. All 10 teams will be sent the following, after which the franchises will be reset with the names of the players they are interested in.

The list is then pruned for auction.

A total of 33 players have been retained/selected prior to the player auction. The existing eight IPL franchises have retained a total of 27 players, including MS Dhoni of Chennai Super Kings, Rohit Sharma of Mumbai Indians and Virat Kohli of Royal Challengers Bangalore.

The two new IPL teams have chosen six players, with Hardik Pandya and KL Rahul being named captains of the Ahmedabad and Lucknow franchises respectively.

Some of the other big names retained include Jasprit Bumrah, Ravindra Jadeja, Kane Williamson, Jos Buttler and Glenn Maxwell to name a few.

The big names to miss are Ben Stokes, Jofra Archer, Mitchell Strac, Sam Curran and Chris Gayle.

Registration of first player from Bhutan

More than 200 players who have registered are capped international players, while 62 uncapped foreign players have also thrown in their hats.

An unnamed player from Bhutan has entered the lucrative competition, while a record 14 cricketers from the US have signed up for the auction.

Australia tops the overseas list with 59 players, while 48 cricketers from South Africa have also been named.

The West Indies (41), Sri Lanka (36), England (30), New Zealand (29) and Afghanistan (20) are some of the other countries from which numerous players have registered their names.

There is also representation from Namibia (5), Nepal (15), the Netherlands (1), Oman (3), Scotland (1), Zimbabwe (2), Ireland (3) and the UAE (1).

EC meets to decide whether ban on physical gatherings should continue

Latest stories

Exit mobile version